The seasons, they are a’changing

lake-keechelus

After a busy week of work, I escaped the urban hubbub for a quiet afternoon ski in the mountains.

Winter wonderland! Or so I thought. Yes, there was still plenty of snow and clouds clung to the surrounding peaks. But there were small, but vivid, signs that winter had given notice to vacate and spring was preparing to move in.

The first telltale sign was the temperature. The air was chilly, but not cold. It didn’t take me long to remove my jacket and ski with only my long-sleeved wool top. I stopped yet again to remove my hat.

Snow and ice is the norm in deep winter in the mountains. But on this day, I was aware of water. The snow was soft and slushy at the trailhead. The trees were drippy as snow slowly melted and fell from their limbs. I listened to the soft “thumps” in the woods as nearby trees released snow bombs.

The distant sound of water tumbling over rocks became louder. Soon I was a crossing a creek on a bridge. A few weeks prior, this creek would have been buried under snow. I spied a watery hole in the once frozen solid lake.

I noticed bugs! There was an occasional flying one and I spotted small bugs crawling on the snow’s surface every time I stopped for a break.

It was after five o’clock when I finished my ski and, despite the overhead layer of clouds, there was still ample light in the sky. Yet another sign that the seasons are changing. As I toss my skis into the Outback, I am looking forward to my next mountain outing and wonder what new changes I will observe.

Vivid

2 thoughts on “The seasons, they are a’changing

  1. Tyrannosaurus Fir

    This reminds me of the area around Gold Pond up at Snoqualmie Pass. I’ll never forget years ago, wallowing around in very uncharacteristic (for the Cascades) powder snow for a snowshoe up Gold Creek while carrying my toddler son in a baby carrier. He fell asleep so I just walked in fluffy snow up to my knees for hours. The things we do to punish ourselves, lol! It’s nice to see winter images from the Cascades, I haven’t really gotten up there a lot the past few years.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

