In Between: Looking For a Job is a Full Time Job

I am between jobs and I am busy looking for my next workplace home. One thing I can tell you: The job search is a full time job.

I spend hours every day surfing career websites and networking with people in search of job leads. When I find something that could be a good fit, I tweak my resume, write my cover letter, supply any additional information requested, and press Send.

Now the waiting game begins. The initial contact is usually an email asking for more information, requesting a phone interview, or to say thanks but no thanks. If the phone interview goes well, I cross my fingers hoping for an invitation to come in for a face-to-face one but I continue the job search.

I recently enrolled in a Job Search Boot Camp offered at my local WorkSource office. It’s five intensive afternoons dedicated to improving my job search techniques and sharpening my resume and interview skills. The course is spread over three weeks, which gives me time to complete homework assignments.

Like I said, looking for a job is a full time job. If persistence pays off, one of these days I will resign from this job for a new one.

One thought on “In Between: Looking For a Job is a Full Time Job

  1. Madd Aly

    I hope you get to resign from your current job soon. I may be able to help with that. If you’re interested, let me know. I’ll send you a link to our career description overview to see if it’s something you’d like to do.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

