In Between: Unemployed

For the first time in my adult life I am without a job. The small nonprofit that I dedicated my energy and passion to for 20+ years merged with a bigger entity and poof! My position was eliminated at the close of 2015.

Time is now mine—lots of it. I used the early weeks of January to do some midweek skiing, avoiding the mass of humanity that clogs the ski areas on weekends. I also enjoyed the weekday solitude on cross-country ski trails. I picked up my knitting needles again, read, cooked, and devoted time to this blog.

As January turned to February, I began to feel an uneasiness. Unemployment is an awkward, in between space to occupy. One day it feels liberating to be free of the shackles of the daily grind, with time to pursue neglected personal interests. On another day I feel adrift at sea without a compass to guide me, missing the direction and purpose that work can provide.

“You can’t remain jobless forever,” badgered a little voice in my head.

“Why not?” I retorted. “I’m enjoying the time off.”

“You’re not ready to retire,” the little voice replied.

And this is true. I miss the workplace camaraderie. I want to contribute to a larger cause. I have a mortgage to pay off. It’s time to focus on the job search. Wistfully, I dug out my resume for a rework, filed for unemployment, and prepared a list of people to contact.

Then I checked today’s snow report:

Enjoy a break from the typical cold, gray, winter day! The sun will shine, making for a fine time to carve down some soft lines. Expect spring like conditions for the next couple of days, meaning soft snow on sunny slopes, views in all directions and comfortable temperatures.

Hmm. Sounds like a bluebird day in the mountains. The phone calls can wait and I can update my resume this evening. It’s time to embrace the day! 😉

5 thoughts on “In Between: Unemployed

Leave a Reply

